Shhh : it’s a secret ! Still unknown, the Mayenne Valley is astounding, rich and preserved … a place to uncover !

The marvellous Mayenne and its beautiful landscapes invite you : come fishing, cycling on the towpath along the river. Follow its changes : wider near Angers while going through the Natura 2000 area ; it gets more hilly the more you are heading North toward its source.

1st day :

Arrival at 2PM on our agency : boarding and training on your boat.

Le Lion d’Angers

Navigation : 40 min

Between the Mayenne and Oudon river, Le Lion d’Angers is the land of horses, with the national Haras de l’Isle Briand, a renowned place where horses are trained and do races. Why not come enjoy one of its many events ?

Montreuil sur Maine

Navigation : 1h

No need to walk a hundred miles ! Stop and take a look at this astounding small scaled Marian sanctuary of

2nd day :

Chenillé-Changé

Navigation : 1h

A must stop ! In this charming little village, climb the steps up to Notre-Dame du Sacré Cœur’s sculpture. If not for this magnificent piece of art, this spot is worth just by the nice panoramic view you can get. Go take a look at the Château des Rues, visit the Domaine des Rues or the beautiful watermill. And do not miss La Table du Meunier, we love that restaurant !

La Jaille-Yvon

Navigation : 30 min

La Jaille-Yvon is a good sporting stopover with Anjou Sport Nature. Adventure park, canoe, orientation run and many more !

Daon

Navigation : 40 min

Good place to fill up your stock while the youngest are resting near the nautic and leisure base !

Ménil

Navigation : 1h

Knowned for its ferry crossing the river, Ménil is a charming and quiet place that you will enjoy. Do not miss in July the bread celebration and the bath race in the river. Yes, you read that right : racing in a bath is doable … Maybe crazy but doable !

Château-Gontier

Navigation : 1h15

This city, thousands of years old, is a place where life is good ! Let its patrimony and nature oriented architecture cast a spell on you. Take a look at the ancient nunnery “Couvent des Ursulines” ; stroll in the hilly streets and its many wood house ; take a walk in the “Jardin du Bout du Monde” (french for the edge of the world garden) … And do not miss the “Marché Aux Veaux” every thursday morning on the border of the Mayenne, where farmer and merchants meet to buy calfs.

3rd day :

Le conseil de Raphaël : villages on this last part of the journey are often a bit far from the river. Consider having everything you need for the day before leaving Château Gontier !

Houssay

Navigation : 2h

Go get a glimpse on the menhir and dolmen, wondrous traces of a long time history. Keep your binoculars and camera at hand on this part to see the many manors and castles all along the river !

Entrammes

Navigation : 2h

Entrammes is a stopover full of surprises ! History lovers will enjoy the sound and light show of the old gallo-roman baths while the gourmands will go taste the Entrammes cheese at the Fromagerie Bio du Maine. And why not get a tour around the Abbaye du Port Salut (still in use !)

Guillaume’s advice : fellow rock climbers, do not miss the climbing spot along the small river behind the abbaye (knowledge and equipment necessary).

4th day :

Laval

Navigation : 2h

Capital city of Mayenne county and true city in the countryside, Laval is a “City of Art and History” since 1993, home of the Douanier Rousseau. Along your visit, experience the charm of its medieval center and its old castle. One last wash-house boat stands in the river, remains of the activities of the washerwomans from another time. But don’t get confused : Laval is a high place of numeric industry !

 

5th day :

Head south for the second part of your journey !

Christian’s advice : do not make all the visit you scheduled on your way up ! Keep some time to share nice moments and meals together !

6th and 7th day :

Le conseil d’Émilie :  rien ne vous empêche de commencer votre séjour par ce côté (notamment si vous voulez prendre le temps de découvrir Angers !

Two solutions available :

  • Go get a little detour on the Oudon river, enjoy the charm of this intimist and shadowy river. This little trip will get you in the towns of Lion d’Angers and Segré, ancient mining capital of what we call “Blue Anjou“. The trip to Segré and back to Grez Neuville will take you around 5h of navigation.
  • Or go discover Angers, a city of two thousand years old that will please anybody. Moor in front of the castle, a good starting point to visit the historical center. Do not miss the Castle and its museum on the famous Tapestries of the Apocalypse ; the Saint-Maurice Cathedral ; the Saint Martin collegiate or the David d’Angers gallery. Or you could moor near the ferry crossing the river to access Saint Aubin Island (do not miss the restaurant that serves “fouées” : a local specialty !). On the western bank you can gain access to Terra Botanica : a real landmark regarding flower and gardens in this 40ha parc dedicated to vegetal and enjoyable at any age !

7th day :

Bakc to Grez Neuville. Rendez vous at 9AM for key return.

You are totally free on your journey’s way. Choose your visits and stopovers as you please.
Enjoy the towpath that will follow you all along the river.

Kevin’s advice : the Mayenne river is known for fishing, don’t forget your “holiday” fishing licence !

Book now

Chut : c’est un secret ! Totalement méconnue, la vallée de la Mayenne est étonnante, riche, préservée … un lieu à découvrir !

La flamboyante Mayenne et ses paysages magnifiques vous invitent, venez pêcher, pédaler sur le chemin de Halage. Suivez ses changements, plus large et étendue en direction d’Angers, en traversant la zone Natura 2 000 ; et en entrant dans des paysages de plus en plus vallonnés en remontant la Mayenne.

1er Jour :

Arrivée le lundi à partir de 14h à la base, embarquement et mise en main de votre bateau.

Le Lion d’Angers

Navigation : 40 min

Entre la rivière Mayenne et celle de l’Oudon, le Lion d’Angers est le pays du cheval, notamment avec son Haras National de l’Isle Briand. Pourquoi ne pas venir assister à un des nombreux événements hippiques de la ville ?

Montreuil sur Maine

Navigation : 1h

Pas besoin de faire des centaines de kilomètres ! Arrêtez vous pour jeter un œil à l’étonnante reproduction de la Grotte de Lourde.

2ème Jour :

Chenillé-Changé

Navigation : 1h

Un arrêt à ne surtout pas manquer ! Dans ce charmant petit village, grimpez les marches jusqu’au coteau de la Vierge ; et si la sculpture de Notre Dame du Sacré Coeur ne vous coupe pas le souffle, la vue splendide depuis ce panorama s’en chargera. Passez devant le Château des Rues, visitez le Domaine des Rues, le magnifique moulin et laissez vous tenter par le restaurant Table du Meunier.

La Jaille-Yvon

Navigation : 30 min

La Jaille-Yvon vous offre une halte sportive avec Anjou Sport Nature. Au programme, accrobranche, canoë, courses d’orientation et bien plus encore !

Daon

Navigation : 40 min

Profitez de ce village pour vous ravitailler. Sa base de loisirs et sa base nautique permet aux petits comme aux grands de faire une pause.

 

 Ménil

Navigation : 1h

Connu pour son bac qui traverse la rivière, Ménil saura vous ravir par son charme et sa tranquillité. Venez assister à sa fête du pain ou à sa course de baignoires au mois de juillet !

Château-Gontier

Navigation : 1h15

Cette cité millénaire de 12 000 habitants est une ville où il fait bon vivre. Laissez vous charmer par son patrimoine et son côté nature. Jetez un oeil au Couvent des Ursulines, déambulez dans les ruelles escarpées de maison à pan de bois, perdez vous au Jardin du Bout du Monde …  Et pourquoi ne pas assister au fameux marché aux veaux du jeudi matin ?!

3ème Jour :

Le conseil de Raphaël : les villages sur cette dernière partie du trajet sont souvent éloignés de la rivière. Pensez à faire vos courses pour la journée avant de quitter Château Gontier !

Houssay

Navigation : 2h

Allez jeter un coup d’oeil au menhir et au dolmen, traces étonnantes d’un passé lointain. A vos jumelles (et appareil photo bien sûr) pour découvrir les manoirs et châteaux parsemés tout au long de la rivière !

Entrammes

Navigation : 2h

Entrammes sera pour vous une halte pleine de surprises ! Les férus d’histoire assisteront au son et lumière des thermes gallo-romains tandis que les gourmands iront déguster du fromage à la Fromagerie Bio du Maine. Et pourquoi ne pas faire un tour à l’Abbaye du Port Salut !

Le Conseil de Guillaume : amis grimpeur, ne loupez pas le spot d’escalade le long du bras de rivière derrière l’abbaye (matériel et connaissance nécessaire).

4ème Jour :

Laval

Navigation : 2h

Préfecture du département de la Mayenne et véritable ville à la campagne, Laval est une « Ville d’art et d’histoire » depuis 1993, patrie du Douanier Rousseau. Au fil de votre visite, laissez-vous charmer par son cœur médiéval et son vieux château. Son dernier bateau lavoir est aussi le témoin de l’activité des lavandières autour de la rivière.  Ne vous fiez pas aux apparences Laval vit à l’heure du numérique !

 

5ème Jour :

Cap au Sud pour la deuxième partie de votre séjour !

Le conseil de Christian : ne concentrez pas toutes vos visites sur le chemin aller ! Profitez aussi de moments de détente, de partage, de fous rires mémorables et de repas conviviaux !

6ème et 7ème Jour :

Le conseil d’Émilie :  rien ne vous empêche de commencer votre séjour par ce côté (notamment si vous voulez prendre le temps de découvrir Angers !

Deux solutions s’offrent à vous :

  • Partir découvrir l’Oudon, profiter des charmes de cette rivière plus intimiste, plus ombragée. Cette petite excursion vous entraînera vers les communes du Lion d’Angers et de Segré, capitale minière de l’Anjou Bleu. Comptez environ 5h de trajet pour remonter l’Oudon et revenir à Grez Neuville.
  • Ou bien allez découvrir Angers, cette cité de 2 millénaires qui saura répondre aux attentes de chacun. Amarrez-vous au port d’Angers, situé en face du château, point de départ idéal pour visiter le centre historique. Visitez le château avec son musée sur les célèbres tentures de l’Apocalypse, la cathédrale Saint Maurice, la collégiale Saint Martin et la Galerie David d’Angers. Ou encore amarrez vous près du bac qui permet d’accéder à l‘île de Saint Aubin (ne manquez pas le restaurant qui préparent les fouées : une spécialité locale !). Sur la rive Ouest vous pouvez accéder à Terra Botanica : haut lieu du tourisme Angevin dans ce parc de 40 hectares dédié au végétal et accessible pour tous les âges.

7ème Jour :

Retour au port de Grez-Neuville. À de nombreux arrêts dans toutes les basses vallées angevines, « Au Coeur des Sensations » vous propose des tours en vélo et trottinettes électriques pour aller profiter des châteaux, activités et dégustations qui font la fierté de l’Anjou : pensez à réserver !

Vous êtes attendu à la base le matin à 9h pour la restitution des clés

Vous êtes totalement libre sur le choix de votre parcours tout au long de vos vacances.
Variez vos visites, haltes selon vos envies.

Le conseil de Kevin : La Sarthe est une rivière très poissonneuse, offrez-vous une partie de pêche en vous procurant un permis pêche « vacances ».

Voir les disponibilités